Walworth Photo Quiz

OK, here I am being unashamedly local. How well do you know SE17? Even if you have never visited you may recognise some of these places from past blog posts. If you are lucky enough to live in Sunny Walworth, a refreshing walk over Christmas may help you identify any mysteries here.
All but two of the twenty-five photos were taken this afternoon.
Put your answers in the comments box, you can put one, two or however many you want at a time. There’s no limit to the number of times you can come back and add an answer.
No prize, other than the fun. Merry Christmas!
[/caption]

1

1

2

2
[caption id="attachment_439" align="aligncenter" width="1024"]3 3


4

4

5

5

6

6

7

7


8

8

9

9

10

10

11

11

12

12

13

13

14

14

15

15

16

16

17

17

18

18

19

19

20

20

21

21

22

22

23

23

24

24

25

25

33 thoughts on “Walworth Photo Quiz

  1. Number 10 is on the house I used to live in on Liverpool grove. Lived there for 23 years so would remember that anywhere. Number 8 is the Red Lion near Westmoreland Road. 18? St. Peter’s church.

  2. Great Quiz!!!
    Here goes my attempt… Feeling pretty confident 🙂
    1. Nursery Row Park
    2. The old Manor Place Baths
    3. Poundland, Walworth Road (formerly Temple Bar)
    4.
    5. Browning Street? Walworth Road end?
    6. Ostrich in Pasley Park ( formerly Surrey Gardens)
    7.
    8. Red Lion pub, Westmoreland Road
    9. Nursery Row Park
    10. ‘Lytham Street’ (answer stolen from Kieran)
    11. Brandon Street
    12. Live/Work Houses, Morecambe Street
    13. Walworth Garden Farm
    14.
    15. ‘Merrow Street’ (answer stolen from Kieran)
    16. St John’s Church, Larcom Street
    17.
    18. St Peter’s Street, Liverpool Grove
    19. Walworth Clinic? Walworth Road
    20. ‘Kennington Tube’ (answer stolen from lahgitano)
    21. Walter’s Close, Brandon Street?
    22. Hmmm… Tricky… Browning Street?
    23. Morecambe Street (can’t remember what it is though)
    24. St Paul’s Church
    25. Cuming Museum (formerly Town Hall, Walworth Road?)

    • 1, 2 correct
      3 no
      5 no
      6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, correct
      19 no
      20, 21 correct
      22 no
      23, 24 correct
      25 no, but Kieran got that one right.

      So you have just four to find.
      🙂

      Should I make postcards of Waworth from my photos?

      • Yay… More quizzes please. I love anything to do with Walworth… or even wider Southwark… but those photos would have to be from a bit further away otherwise I’ll never recognise them 😉 Photomontage quiz postcards of Walworth could would, as long as the answers are on the back or something?

      • “From a bit further away”? Not sure I understand. I was wondering about postcards or greetings cards if people were interested.

  3. Re: ‘From a bit further away’: If the close-up photos were of anywhere else in Southwark, I think I’d find it impossible to identify them.

    More guesses:
    3. Dawes Street/Aylesbury Road?
    5. Mason’s Arms, East Street?

    I think people might be interested in postcards/greeting cards – especially to send to Walworth ex-pats. People seem to have a lot of love and good memories for Walworth and always enjoy seeing photos. There are Walworth postcards out at the moment but they’re not close up shots like yours.
    http://www.davidhankin.com/blog/artwork/new-brixton-peckham-walworth-postcards-2/

    • But maybe they would make you explore!
      Yes I have seen those cards. At first I thought they had got hold of my photos, some of which are are on another site, then I realised we had been photographing the same things. I like details, so maybe I could try that and make them available on this site. Thanks for the feedback.
      Well done with 5, I think that is the hardest. Isn’t it a great building?
      That isn’t where I photographed 3, but the same date sign appears on various buildings, so I should check and see if it s there too. I don’t think of that!

      • Yeah… I like detail too and I’m up for exploring Southwark. Your photos definitely make you take more notice of your surroundings. My cousin recognised No 5… its about 100 metres from where I live, so I should have recognised it really.

        14. The Hub, Walworth Road 🙂 Just caught the bus from the stop just outside.

      • I should like to know the history of the pub. The building is so exotic, especially given the location.
        Well done with the Hub. I should like to have been a fly on the wall when you spotted it!
        Re postcards, I think I may put a choice of pictures here and and ask for feedback. If enough people were interested, I could get a few printed and sell from this site.

      • Don’t have a clue about most of those pics, Isobel, but I really enjoyed your detail shots of the places. Very nice way to do a quiz!

        When I cross the pond, I shall visit sunny Walworth!

      • Thank-you. I shall do more I think. Maybe a little one on Westminster between Christmas and New Year.

      • Glass lifts to that height?!?! I need to lie down at the very thought.
        Sunny Walworth is a great place, and I shall look forward to showing you around,but we are going to go through a period of demolition in a few years that will make it look rather like a bomb site. I hope it will be worth it.
        In the New Year I hope to do a post or two about some local accommodation for visitors.

      • Oh what a grand idea–accommodation for visitors. That’s always the hardest part for me because I never know the neighborhoods, of course!

        I hope nobody was silly enough to design an outside elevator to that height, or even near it!

  4. OK, it is time for the final answers.
    3. Liverpool Grove on the flats that are part of the Octavia Hill Estate
    16. Manor Place, the old vestry building
    19. Walworth Road, the Old Town Hall
    22. Penton Place, a detail of one of the Pullen’s Buildings

    On Twitter, PopularCultureLover got 4 – St Paul’s House in Sutherland Square. The plaque comes from the school that used to stand on the site and was pulled down sometime in the 80s.

    Well done everyone. Thanks for joining in with the fun.

  5. Well that was any eye opener! Didn’t know about half of those and the lads were stumped as well. Good quiz onto the next one.

Please comment here

