The Jolly Season

Wherever you turn in London there are Christmas trees and fairy lights. I have posting quite a few pictures of them on Instagram whwere you can follow me @londonbyguide.

It’s the jolly season. The time of year when you meet up with friends and colleagues and eat out in restaurants.

Thanks to the visit to this side of the pond by some jolly people who forsake the warmth of California for the winds of London, winds that are I understand courtesy of Desmond, I had the chance to eat in great company in two places that have been recommended to me but which I have hitherto never tried.

Both can be enjoyed at the end of two of my walks this week.

First Greenwich tomorrow morning. Afterwards you could eat at the Plume of Faethers where last Monday I enjoyed an excellent Thai green curry. I opted for the vegetarian option as did another of my dining companions. There was fish and chips, chicken, burgers, veggie and meat and all was lovely.

We then went on to the Plague Fire and Revolution exhibition at the National Maritime Museum. We were there about an hour and a half and had time to look at and listen to everything comfortably.

On Thursday, at the end of the Bermondsey walk, we ate at Nelson’s on Borough High Street. It looks like a sandwich bar but go inside and there is a restaurant area at the back. If only they were open in the evening. Once again a wonderful meal and great company.

I’m also guiding in the British Museum tomorrow afternoon.

All tours cost £10, £8 for full-time card carrying students and over 65s, plus £5.50 boat fare for Greenwich.

Meet me for 10.30 at the Tramshed Coffee Stop at Tower Hill Tube tomorrow 7th December for the Greenwich tour; at 2.30 outside Russell Square tube tomorrow 7th December for the British Museum; at 10.30 outside Bermondsey tube station on Thursday 10th December.

Please comment here

