Next stop, Colchester

A novel might have taken me to Coventry, but by a strange symmetry it was after visiting Colchester I began reading a novel that mentions, even features, some of the places I saw in the original capital of Roman Britain.

I had unfortunately sprained my ankle just a few days beforehand, so my explorations were not quite as extensive as I should have liked. Still it gives me a good excuse to return.

I have visited many other parts of Essex, and even celebrated a birthday in and around Wivenhoe a few years ago when friends joined me for an easy eight mile walk which started, middled and ended at the pub.

Colchester boasts an impressive castle, a ruined abbey, and an astounding building that is home to the Museum of Modern Art.

Ann, a Blue Badge Guide lead us on a great tour of the castle which is almost next door to the tourist office and surrouned by splendid gardens.

I took a photograph of this inn before starting to read Sarah Perry’s The Essex Serpent, and got that little thrill of excitement to find it featured in the novel.

The George


There are half-timbered buildings, but most exciting of all, these elephants adorned the High Street, so I felt completely at home!

Elephants

One thought on “Next stop, Colchester

Please comment here

