Talking London

London has the reputation as an expensive city, and that reputation is often justified, yet there are often good quality events which are free, or low priced. As a professional guide, I am required to increase my knowledge. The sheer range of talks available makes this a pleasure.

Libraries are a great source of these. This week I have already attended two talks in libraries, and tonight I am going to a third. One was about looking for evidence of slavery in the archives, the other about the life of a remarkable woman in the C19. Tonight it’s a talk with artist Hew Locke. I could have attended a talk every night of the week, but sometimes I just want to be at home.

Check out Eventbrite for free talks. I have just had a quick look at what’s on offer next week (and noted at least one in my diary). There are 83 pages, everything from a lecture on Unveiling the Dark Universe with the Dark Energy Survey given by Dr Alexandra Amon of the Royal Astrological Society, to The Medieval Agricultural Revolution: New evidence at Gresham College.

I have just signed up for Women’s Activism in Twentieth-Century Britain. I’m too late with my reservation to be in the room, but fortunately there’s an option to attend virtually as well, so I have booked my spot. Culture from the comfort of my sofa!

Please comment here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.